WESTERN ZONE EVENT- March 28-29, 2008

Started by admin, January 15, 2008, 01:31:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

admin

As we get closer to the event, we'll set up caravans for those heading out Thursday and any going on Friday.

Banzai Ben

Hey Art and Dan,

Looking forward to it. What's the best way to launch the car off the line? I'm a newbie to drag racing. What rpm do you shift?

You are welcome for the ride but I wasn't one of the fast guys out there. Dan, David, and Terri were hauling ass out there.

See you guys soon,

Ben

2013 SRT Viper, Race Yellow
2003 Viper Comp Coupe, GTS Blue
2005 SRT-10 Ram, Yellow Fever
2018 Hellcat Challenger, Indigo Blue

PCH VIPER

It looks like for me to go, I'll be dragging the entire family out.
I probably won't be able to hit the road till midday on Friday....but at least I'll be able to go.

Anybody want to babysit?  ;D
www.kouchicentral.com  for more viper pictures

ViperX

Hey Lance,

Glad you can make it.  Maybe you'll find a babysitter.  If not, come anyway.

Hey Ben,

We'll try and talk about the drag event at dinner the night before.  The drag strip should be very well prepared, i.e. very sticky, so you'll want to take off easy the first time, slide the clutch and then go full gas.  Whatever you do, don't rev it and drop the clutch.  Vipers can be very fast at the drags but the independent rear suspension isn't the strongest for high rev launches.

On shifting, the GTS seems to like about 5500 rpm, the SRT's seem to like 5800 to 6000 rpm.  Just be sure you grab the correct gear, relax and don't rush your shifts.  A missed shift can be scary and at worst, costly.

Hugh Hoard is planning to bring his drag car and shooting for low 9's, high 8's.  Lyle Larson will be driving another fast drag Viper.  Both cars have huge slicks, automatic transmissions and are full on drag cars with parachutes.

There should also be a couple of local Vegas twin turbo Vipers there that are very fast drag cars.  It should be fun to watch.